Weaponsman On LandNav Parts 1, 2, And 3

I had actually planned to do an article on the silva / suunto compass mentioned in the article, but I haven’t had a chance to sit down with it yet. Paired with an altimeter, it is one of the most effective tools I’ve ever had for land nav and after learning how to properly use it I immediately bought one and threw my lensatics in my junk drawer.
Good read here either way, and a good chance to refresh a few pointers on land nav if you haven’t done it in a while.

Mason Dixon Tactical

LandNav Post.jpg “Old School” Civil War era lensatic compass. Modern GI lensatic compass with tritium illumination.

So there I was, in the middle of a swamp I knew  I wasn’t supposed to be in, smack dab in the middle of Ft Stewart . How did I get there? The short story is that while practicing BD-1A, I received the mission, and while that info was being given to me, I asked for the briefer to show me what intersection on my map we were located at (Ft Stewart is somewhat on the flat side, so locating your position based on terrain differences is somewhat difficult in certain areas there), because we had just been dropped off there. Upon being shown the location, I figured out the grid, and was ready to start planning.

As luck would have it, the cherry LT giving the brief showed me an intersection that was approximately 350…

View original post 3,798 more words

Leave a Reply

