Matter

hello_boys_i__m_back_by_dominiopubliko-d5la5hi1

 

New theme, new name (never really cared much for the old one anyways; it was always meant to be temporary until I found something I liked better) and a new blog post to top it all off!  I even have a facebook page dedicated to this blog now so I can maintain a little bit of anonymity.  I almost just had a Doctor Who regeneration there, but allons-y!
After a short hiatus and some time spent tending to my family matters, I am left with only this… Family Matters.
I have sat back and watched the social media news network, which is little more than a step away from the private / lance corporal news network, and found that most of you will get on there and bitch about whatever the news is feeding you THIS week and tear at each other’s throats REGARDLESS of what ever information is put in front of you.

10492479_10202248320590812_6493818268813631932_n

Let me assure you of ONE thing, the news you get is half truths bent over backwards and spun around in the box of “feels” and then conveyor belted to you with an end state that looks like this…

 

2010-10-05-Screenshot20101005atOct.57.10.27AM

That’s McNugget paste; enjoy the visual

This guy…

Douchebag

Douchebag

This girl…

 

Badass.  If you think otherwise, well its my blog, too bad

Badass. If you think otherwise, well its my blog, too bad

 

These people…

Damn, this suck to live with a bunch of people with tuberculosis in an internment camp, guess I shouldn't have come to America after all

Damn, this suck to live with a bunch of people with tuberculosis in an internment camp, guess I shouldn’t have come to America after all

…have all had you tearing each other apart over the last month.  All the while you don’t seem to hear much about these guys anymore…

Afghanistan's favorite chai boy; soon to be released and integrated back to active duty

Afghanistan’s favorite chai boy; soon to be released and integrated back to active duty

wpid-21gitmo_combo-popup.jpg

These fine outstanding members of the human society that only want to spread the word of allah peacefully

This thing

This thing; which caused this next thing…

In case you were oblivious, Libyan Ambassador Chris Stevens (died Sep, 2012)

In case you were oblivious, Libyan Ambassador Chris Stevens (died Sep, 2012)

… and of course #ourgirls…

Did you know 60 girls recently escaped?  But not the ones that we were supposed to bring back.  Since then the effort to find them has diminished to a quarter of what it was

Did you know 60 girls recently escaped? But not the ones that we were supposed to bring back. Since then the effort to find them has diminished to a quarter of what it was

ALL-THE-WHILE…

Some guys in some desert we sent people to have been doing things and it might be important, I uh, guess

Some guys in some desert we sent people to have been doing things and it might be important, I uh, guess

Point is, I have sat back over the last three weeks and watched how ridiculously fickle the masses are.  How prone to following CNN, NBC, and even Fox every one likes to be.  How at the drop of a hat we are on to the next mind numbing, “OMG, I can’t believe they did that” thing and forgetting what had happened the week before.  I just want you to know that there is a lot of money being made by news agencies giving you half fact news and keeping your interest focused elsewhere.  Maybe, possibly, and pretty please, have some sense of things that matter.

Kendall Jones, the 19 year old safari hunting cheerleader from Texas who got demonized last week for contributing way more to conservation than anyone I’ve met in my life?  When I went on Google to retrieve her picture, this is what I encountered…

kendall jones

 

Obviously, not THAT important to everyone a week later.  Fucking Kenny Rogers is more important than her a week later.  You shouldn’t need any more proof than this: If you are under 30 and reading this name something Kenny Rogers has done (other than “The Gambler”) without looking it up.  The Geico poker commercial doesn’t count either.  NOT THAT IMPORTANT.

10155884_789339777767387_8700193624203206452_n

Now that I’ve made my point on what isn’t important, let’s talk about what is.

Your family.  That’s important.  Fuck work, fuck school, fuck all, but take care of your family.  My time spent sitting here, long hours, contemplating things, displaced to a hotel room, sending my daughter to stay with her grandparents for the remainder of the summer, it has all culminated to one big damn reminder that my family needs to be my priority.  No matter how much of my personal time they eat away, no matter how much we get on each other’s nerves, they are the important part of my life.  This situation definitely proved that no matter how good it can be going, it only take the matter of a day to completely flip everything you know upside down.  All of this, ALL OF IT, can be gone in a matter of days.  So prepare.  Your best plans will turn to ash, but the better prepared for that you are, the better you are going to turn out.

So stop what you are doing.  Its not that important, go hug your wife (or husband for you lady followers) like you haven’t seen her in a year and give them a kiss like you actually mean it.  Go play with your kids, be there for them, be a positive influence for them.  Don’t let them grow up to be shitheads.  Take time for the people who are important in your life.  Remind them that they are important.  Make them feel important.  Make them feel like they matter, and stop spending your time ripping each other apart.

One thought on “Matter

  1. I try to tell my GF this. But she is younger then me by 9 years and has never really suffered a hard loss. She doesn’t get it and many times I’m jealous and envious of her ignorance and innocence to it. Sometimes she thinks I’m over affectionate but she has never had it snatched away and doesn’t understand how fragile life and loved ones really are..So yeah, stop what you’re doing no matter what it is. Family (or sometimes friends if you’re on of the lucky ones to have a good one) is the top priority…

    Like

Leave a Reply

